2.23.11 – Golden Hour

Watercolor on Paper

2

Trying out a new technique:  Soaked a piece of Arches 140lb Cold Press paper and layered on Cadmium Yellow Light, Indian Yellow, Windsor Red, then a concoction of Pthalo Blue and Windsor Red + Permanent Rose. The darks alternate between Burnt Sienna and Ultramarine Blue + Burnt Umber and a bit of Alizarin Crimson.  Nice grays coming out of those. I’m not really happy with the way the sky turned out, but I figured I wouldn’t waste the paper and painted the boats and water on it. I’ll try the wet-on-wet ‘glow’ technique again. 

By the way, the flash on the left side of the page is horrible and makes the transition in the sky terrible. I need to learn how to take better photos of my pieces.

2 Comments on “2.23.11 – Golden Hour”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Can I start the bidding on this one? I love it!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Awww! I can do a better one for you 😉 I’m not happy with the way the sky turned out on this one. I still have to paint Sammo on a boat!


Leave a Reply

