3.27.11 – Paint Like A Motherfucker

Watercolor, Ink, and Salt on Paper

Paintlikemofo

For the past nine months, Google graciously allowed me to work part-time to figure out my creative aspirations, but this week will mark the first week back to being full-time.  To those of you who don’t know, this is happening for a number of reasons, here’s two: 1. While I’m seeing marked improvement in my paintings, I still have A LONG way to go and am now I’m determined to get better at it 2. I have way more expensive taste than the elusive “starving artist” lifestyle can afford, particularly in San Francisco.  Some people might consider this move to be a bit like selling out, but I read this article from the “Dear Sugar” article on Rumpus.net, that made me decide that not only can I work 40+ hours a week and paint everyday, I’ll be damn good at it too.

This inspired me to paint this piece, titled, “Paint Like A Motherfucker,” which will be hanging on my wall every day to inspire me to quit complaining and simply dig

Excerpt from the article on Dear Sugar:

The unifying theme is resilience and faith. The unifying theme is being a warrior and a motherfucker. It is not fragility. It’s strength. It’s nerve… Writing is hard for every last one of us—straight white men included. Coal mining is harder. Do you think miners stand around all day talking about how hard it is to mine for coal? They do not. They simply dig

So write, Elissa Bassist. Not like a girl. Not like a boy. Write like a motherfucker.”

This was advice for an aspiring writer, but I think it applies to creative passions everywhere.  Here’s the whole article, I highly recommend the read: http://therumpus.net/2010/08/dear-sugar-the-rumpus-advice-column-48-write-lik…

Wish me luck. 

2 Comments on “3.27.11 – Paint Like A Motherfucker”

  1. miyoko says:

    wow ! Keep doing what you like and very good at it !! we envy you and support you.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Ruby and I were just talking about how cool you are. Justin is a lucky man! 🙂 Many thanks for al the support!


Leave a Reply

