5.15.11 – Finished Designing My Tattoo

Ink on Bristol

3

I’m meeting with a very talented tattoo artist tomorrow, so I spent most of today drawing out my final design for my tattoo. I want to get these Gingko leaves tattooed down my side and back. Context: My Japanese pen pal growing up, Maiko Tsuji, used to send me Gingko leaves in her letters to me. The Gingko tree has been known to live up to 2,000 years, survived the nuclear bomb, and symbolizes longevity, hope, resilience and peace. So there you have it. 

The calligraphy is my Dad’s, and that’s his signature chop. I asked him to write a line from Lao Zi’s ‘Tao Te Ching,’ which loosely translates to the meaning I like the most- which is, “Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.” 

 

 

One Comment on “5.15.11 – Finished Designing My Tattoo”

  1. miyoko says:

    What a beautiful Gingko leaves !! Calligraphy is magnificent one !!Tattoo??????


Leave a Reply

