My First Ikebana Arrangement

Lately, I’ve been kind of obsessed with Neo-Nihonga paintings and Ikebana flower arrangements. Now, I’ve never considered myself much of a Nihongophile, but there’s something about the poetic simplicity, the clean lines, and the focus on Nature that I’m really feeling. I find that even when I try to experiment with different styles and techniques in my paintings, I always seem to find my way back to the simple, poetic, and natural. Less is more, when you have a great balance of symmetry, composition, and color.

In addition to tons of resources online, I’ve been reading Keiko’s Ikebana, A Contemporary Approach to the Traditional Japanese Art of Flower Arranging, by Keiko Kubo. For those of you who know me well, you know that I love gardening, I love flowers, and I absolutely need fresh plants and flowers in the house. I’m also have interests that are relevant to old, retired women. I’ll own that. There’s just something about living with living things in the house to make you feel centered and happy. So, Ikebana is totally the next step in my obsession with having beautiful things in my house.

I present to you, my first attempt at Ikebana:

Image

I took a few photos with this with my camera, but Carlos stepped in and took a picture that kind of put mine to shame, so here it is on his Flickr site: http://www.flickr.com/photos/cloalpz/7749939846/sizes/l/in/photostream/ It’s now a collaborative art project!  The next step is to practice my japanese brush techniques using this Ikebana still life. I’ll be working on this in the meantime. Until then…

Leave a Reply

