This One is Personal.

Oil on Canvas 

The_dress_

I’ve wanted to paint this image for a long time, I felt I had to. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, and maybe a painting is worth more. Who knows. All I know is that I’ve struggled to capture all the emotions I’ve felt in the past two years: the love, the loss, the hope to live up to expectations, followed by all its apologies– while struggling to let go of the ideal and embrace all its consequences. In this painting, I wanted to portray the grayness of reflection, the stillness of solitude, with a sense of hope depicted by a change in wind; the flutter and ephemeral nature of love. I’ve been told it’s haunting, surreal, and full of emotion. I just wanted it to be beautiful. 

3 Comments on “This One is Personal.”

  1. miyoko says:

    So Beautiful !

  2. AyrSpace says:

    Lovely – so pleased you realized this work. Paint it again and see where you go…

  3. Anonymous says:

    Reflecting in the past seems to give us direction in life’s journey, memories of what was worth keeping.


Leave a Reply

