11.29.12 – Trying Out New Things

It’s not every day you get to be in a classroom setting with live figure models, but I’ve been priviledged to be in the studio with models for the past few weeks. I started out trying to paint realistically, making sure to mix accurate skin tones and do academic drafts beforehand. Then, I started playing with colors and more abstract composition, lines, and rhythms. I think I still like the realistic rendition better, but there are a few things in the abstract that I like. I still find that I love painting the human figure, and never cease to be amazed and inspired by it. 

Seated_nude

Oil on Canvas Board

65-Minute Pose of Catherine

Abstract_nude

Oil on Canvas

90- Minute Pose of Karen

Leave a Reply

