On Beauty

I’ve never considered myself a late bloomer, but lately I’ve started to acknowledge that I am. As I’m learning to see and comprehend new techniques and ideas, I’m continually being humbled by what I still don’t know. I guess that’s what makes the process interesting. 

Image

My latest piece attempts to combine various elements of ideas I’ve been mulling over in my brain: the concept of Beauty and Image as a commodity, its falsity, and the punishment women give themselves and others while trying to attain it. The magazine articles I collaged into the background came from just ONE Glamour magazine–just one magazine gave me everything I needed in this piece, including articles like “Don’t get a nose job, get glasses,” or “What men think of your shoes,” and ads like, “Hope in a Jar.” 

It wasn’t surprising, but I was surprised—so much of what we grew up and still see just wants to sell us on the unattainable. It’s all there in the background, the white noise that we learn to tune out but still remains. Some women tell me that feminism is irrelevant now, but between the conversations around current events occurring in Steubenville, in India, and even the backlash against Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In, I think there is still much to be discussed. Feel free to disagree. 

 

 

One Comment on “On Beauty”

  1. Sasha Pang says:

    This is so beautiful! I’ve recently been getting frustrated with the exact line of reasoning you reference toward the end – the notion that feminism is irrelevant or somehow redundant. Love your response! So much more eloquent than one could ever express with words alone.


Leave a Reply

