My Latest Series: Abstractions of Song

Song Abstract Series

Music is very often a part of the highest and the lowest points of my day. Lyrics give me words when I don’t have my own, and music expresses emotions I sometimes don’t know I have. I suspect music inspires the same in others, which is why so many people find solace in the same songs, sharing the need to reinterpret and pay homage to songs of the past.

In my new series, I revisited songs that have been interpreted by various artists, songs I have discovered/rediscovered at various points in my life. Because so much of what I paint is representational, I wanted to challenge myself to simply paint in the abstract- completely devoid of symbolism. I wanted to test my ability to convey a certain sense of feeling in each, that can’t be expressed in lyrics or words–even by some of the greatest musicians in history. I also wanted to share the meaning they’ve created in their reinterpretations of the same song, and be a part of the tradition through the process of creation. These paintings are my dedication to my times of love, loss, obsession, and heartbreak. I hope it resonates with you.

This series was recently shown at the Asian American Women Artist Association’s show, “A PLACE OF HER OWN” at the SEED Gallery at the Thoreau Center for Sustainability in the Presidio, San Francisco from Thursday, June 12 to Friday, July 25th, 2014. Thank you to all who made it to the show, I am forever grateful for your support. 


wishyoulove

“I wish you health But more than wealth I wish you love My breaking heart and I agree That you and I could never be So with my best My very best I set you free.” From, “I Wish You Love”

Title: I Wish You Love

Materials: Oil, Graphite Powder, Watercolor and Clear Glitter on Canvas

Description: My visual interpretation of Rachael Yamagata’s rendition of, “I Wish You Love,” is a wide chasm of longing, touched with the earnestness of hope, leading to a glimmering horizon.  This particular song has significance to me, as it carried me through some of my deepest heartaches. There are layers of warmth beneath the ice, and the only way to get to it is through the path toward the cracked ice above. To me, it is a song of heartbreak, loss, but overwhelming and  encompassing love.

Play: “I Wish You Love,” Rachael Yamagata 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Lilac Wine

“I made wine from the lilac tree Put my heart in its recipe It makes me see what I want to see and be what I want to be When I think more than I want to think Do things I never should do I drink much more that I ought to drink Because (it) brings me back you… Lilac wine, I feel unsteady, like my love Listen to me… I cannot see clearly Lilac wine, I feel unsteady, where’s my love? Listen to me, why is everything so hazy?” –From “Lilac Wine”

Title: Lilac Wine

Materials: Oil, Graphite Powder, Watercolor and Enamel on Canvas

Description: Based on Jeff Buckley’s interpretation of “Lilac Wine,” I imagined the dynamic push and pull of syrupy wine legs against the shadows of a lonely, dark place. This piece represents  an obsessive, clingy love—drowned in the blissful oblivion of intoxication. 

Play: “Lilac Wine,” by Jeff Buckley


Landslide

“Oh, mirror in the sky, what is love? Can the child within my heart rise above? Can I sail through the changing ocean tides? Can I handle the seasons of my life? I take my love, take it down I climb a mountain and turn around And if you see my reflection in the snow-covered hills Will the landslide bring you down.” —From, “Landslide”

Title: Landslide

Materials: Oil, Watercolor, Graphite Powder

Description: “Landslide,” by Smashing Pumpkins is another remake of a classic song by Fleetwood Mac, and my interpretation of it represents a departure from what I’ve been known to create in the past. It’s a personal piece and homage to my familiar past: a long-standing love lost, an embracing of change, and a hope to rebuild.

Play: “Landslide,” by Smashing Pumpkins


One Comment on “My Latest Series: Abstractions of Song”

  1. […] My Latest Series: Abstractions of Song → […]


Leave a Reply

